//
you're reading...
fun poem, love poem, Poetry, spoken word, wordshine

Election Day


While today Barbadians exercise their constitutional right to vote for the government that will lead them into the next 5 year term, I decided to cast my vote with my heart and not my head.  I give you ….

Election Day

Today, we vote.
We mark the ‘x’ next to the one
We want to represent us in this nation.
We choose a government to lead us
For the next 5 years;
The next political generation.

Well, I choose you.

I choose you to
Represent my constituency
The representative for the Empress party
I elect you to lead my country
You are the best candidate to protect my sovereignty
And I willingly submit my right to lead myself
You are qualified to be my Minister of Health
‘Cause being with you makes me feel damn good
Or how about Education?
You can teach my heart to stand at attention
When our National Anthem plays
(“My Heart Belongs To You” by Peabo Bryson)
You can be the Minister of Finance
‘Cause, really, you are fine as ass….
And you don’t break the Budget to look that good
Your fiscal policy’s as strong
As I knew it would be
Or maybe I can put you in the Senate
Coz my libido shoots up – you send it
Higher
Every time we touch you start a fire
Deep inside my loins.
I have carefully read your manifesto
And now I definitely decide to go
To the polls and put my ‘x’
Next to the only candidate that makes sense for me
Empress, you have my vote -
Come lead my country!

About PassionPoet

Wordsmith. Spoken word artist. I inhale words and exhale poetry.....

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Election Day

  1. Overall yes baby, but…

    “You can be the Minister of Finance
    ‘Cause, really, you are fine as ass….”

    Uh, fine as ass??? For I’m not seeing the compliment here. Is this meant to be something more along the lines of ‘Cause, really, you have one fine ass’? Because something got lost in the Barbadian/American translation. :D

    Other than that, X marks the spot indeed, you’ve got my vote!

    Like

    Posted by Raivenne | February 21, 2013, 10:25 AM
    • Yes, you are correct, Rai, it is a Bajan way of saying you look damn good … as well as I was trying to spin off the sound of the word ‘finance’ …. Not ‘one fine ass’ … I guess I will rework that line to make it a little more palatable to an international audience lol

      Like

      Posted by PassionPoet | February 21, 2013, 11:01 AM
  2. Yes passion you got my vote.

    Like

    Posted by empress | February 21, 2013, 11:32 AM

Communicate with my Muse....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,088 other followers

Past Poetic Posts

Poetic Submissions

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

